India batsman omitted from Mumbai Ranji squad for first two matches, Sarfaraz Khan in

Mumbai omitted Prithvi Shaw from the squad for the first two Ranji Trophy matches, while Sarfaraz Khan was included.

Team Mumbai on Monday announced its 15-member squad for the first two games of the Ranji Trophy 2024 — versus Bihar and Andhra, and there was a big surprise in it as well. While India batsman Ajinkya Rahane will lead the side for the second consecutive time, there will be no Prithvi Shaw in the team.

Domestic giants Mumbai had finished fourth in the Elite Group B last time, and failed to even make it to the playoffs. Having said that, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Suryakumar Yadav would also not be available for the first two ties, but due to completely different reasons. While Jaiswal is with the Indian team in South Africa, Surya is nursing an injury.

Surprisingly, Sarfaraz Khan has been included in the team as well, who is currently in South Africa, and played a couple of India A games there.

Omission of Prithvi Shaw Cause of Concern?

Shaw had a decent run in last year’s Ranji Trophy campaign, where he scored 595 runs at an average of 59, with 379 as his highest. But his fitness could be one of the reasons for his omission from the first two matches of the team. A few weeks back, a video of him practicing had gone viral, where he looked completely out of shape.

On the other hand, it would be a chance for Sarfaraz Khan, to once again go on a run-scoring spree, and give another reason for the selectors to pick him in the Test squad.

Also Read:

Mumbai Ranji Trophy Squad 2024: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Jay Bista, Bhupen Lalwani, Hardik Tamore, Sarfaraz Khan, Shivam Dube, Suved Parkar, Prasad Pawar, Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Avasthi, Dhaval Kulkarni, Royston Dias, Atharva Ankolekar.

Google News

Source link

Latest articles

Related articles